When people have a traumatic experience, they often react with fear and helplessness. They may even feel like it’s their fault and no one else’s. These thoughts are normal and are called post-traumatic symptoms. Many different treatments can help with post-traumatic symptoms. But just like any other injury or illness, you need to go through five specific stages of recovery before you can move on from your trauma and regain control of your life again. These five stages, also referred to as a healing cascade, outline the process that people go through as part of their recovery from trauma or a wound. Let’s take a look at what these stages are and how they help people heal after a serious injury or crisis Alcohol rehabs centre in pune.

Before You Can Recover, You Have to Be Aware of Your Trauma

Trauma can happen in any kind of situation, and can affect anyone. Therefore, it is important to be aware that you have been through a trauma or wound. For example, if you are a war veteran or have suffered a sexual assault, it may be helpful to talk to someone, like a therapist or counsellor, about it. If you have other kinds of traumas that you aren’t sure about, it may be a good idea to talk to a professional about them because sometimes people need to be reminded that what happened to them was traumatic. You also have to be aware of your own feelings and how you are coping with your trauma. This is especially important if you are not coping well or you are feeling sad or angry. You may need to talk to someone about these feelings and how they are affecting your life.

Re-traumatisation occurs and triggers the healing process

Post-traumatic symptoms can come back again and again, but with each re-traumatisation, the mind heals a little more. When you are able to recognise that you are going through a similar experience to what you did when you were injured, that is called “re-traumatisation.” When you notice that you are feeling similar, negative emotions as before, you have triggered the healing process and let your brain restock itself with new chemicals and hormones that help you cope with trauma. When you re-traumatise, your brain gets a little stronger and more resilient, which is why you may feel like you are going through the symptoms again.

The first stage of recovery is “Disassociation”

Disassociation is a way to cope with trauma by blocking out the memory, thoughts, and feelings associated with your experience. When people have a wound or experience trauma, they may go through a natural process of disassociation. This means that they lose part or all of their memory of the event while they are experiencing it. After the event, they may have gaps in their memory related to the experience. An example of disassociation would be if a person got injured in a car accident. They may not remember the whole event because they were in a state of shock or pain at the time of the event. They may even blank out their own name that someone is calling for hours and days after the event. Another example would be if someone was in a violent or sexual assault and they were in a state of shock or had no idea what was happening. They may not remember what happened at all, or only vague pieces of the experience.

The second stage is called “Hyperarousal”

Hyperarousal happens when you are feeling on edge and are constantly looking out for danger. Hyperarousal happens when people suffer from flashbacks or intrusive thoughts, or feel nervous and on edge. Hyperarousal can make it hard to focus on everyday tasks or even get out of bed in the morning. Hyperarousal is a normal part of trauma recovery because it is linked to a person’s fight-or-flight response. When you experience a trauma, your body prepares you to fight or flee. When a situation is threatening, your body pumps out adrenaline, which increases your heart rate, blood pressure, and level of readiness. Hyperarousal marks the beginning of the second stage of recovery, “Hyperarousal,” where you are ready to return to a normal state of being.

The third stage is called “Shame and Doubt”

In the third stage of recovery, you will begin to “face your shame and doubt.” Up until this stage, people may have tried to push their feelings about the trauma or wound away. It may have been a chore to talk about what happened and make sense of what happened. But now that they are feeling hyperarousal again and re-traumatising, they have to face their shame and doubt. People usually feel shame when they have done something that is “not okay” or something that makes them “not good enough.” Shame can make it hard to talk about what happened and make sense of what happened. People also often doubt things that happen to them and how they feel. Sometimes these doubts can be useful. However, in cases of trauma, these doubts can be signs of a problem. They can be a sign that you are in the third stage of trauma recovery, “Shame and Doubt.”

The fourth stage is called “Anger” and it leads to a change in behaviour

In the fourth stage of trauma recovery, you may experience anger or rage. Anger marks a person’s own power and ability to change things. Anger is linked to strength and energy. Anger can be a good thing if you choose to channel it toward positive change. But if you don’t choose what you do with your anger, it can cause problems. If you have suffered a trauma, you may feel like you are stuck in a rut and you don’t know how to escape it. One way to escape a rut is to channel your anger into a positive change.


Trauma recovery is a long-term process. Most people go through these five stages of healing several times during their recovery. These stages can be hard and challenging, but it’s also important to remember that you are healing. As you go through these stages, remember that it is okay to struggle, it is okay to feel sad, and it is okay to feel angry. These feelings are all part of the healing process and they aren’t signs of a problem, they are signs of becoming stronger.

Get Directions to – Best Alcohol addiction treatment in pune

This article was originally published at - https://joyrulez.com/blogs/276183/What-are-the-5-stages-of-rehabilitation